Clothing

Converting a Dress to a Skirt

Earlier in the year, I wore my Vivien Of Holloway Halterneck Swing Dress as a skirt, choosing to pair it with the Powderpuff Boutique Evita Top. It’s a great way to mix up your wardrobe and freshen up a outfit.

I had a lot of request for a description on how to do it so here it is!

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

I find this works best with a petticoat so you can tuck the top part underneath and disguise any of the excess fabric.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Tuck the top half in to the waistband.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Pull the zipper up to the waistband.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Since the zipper isn’t going to be going all the way up, secure it with a safety pin to stop it unzipping.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Now twist it back around so the zip sits at the back.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Now tuck the bodice part underneath the petticoat.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

This helps to create a smooth line, especially with a dress like this which has boning in the bodice.

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

Now add a wide belt to help hide the waist and you’re done!

Wearing a Dress as a Skirt

x Miss Victory Violet

Categories: Clothing, Pinup Life Hacks

16 replies »

  1. Took your advise and tried this with my PUG mermaid dress and was able to wear it as a skirt to my daughters high school graduation party and to work as well. Thank you for this brilliant idea!
    Kisses!
    Dawn Meri

  2. Hi admirable and beautiful Miss!
    This is an awesome idea! I am going to try it on my Pinup dresses but I’m a little bit worried: Maybe there is a risk to damage the top of the dress…what do you think about it ?
    Thanks for your answer! Ans forgive my english mistakes: I’m French !

  3. Have you tried this with any of the pinup girl clothing dresses? I find that their fabric is much thicker and was wondering if it doesn’t still show a bit under the petticoat right at the belly portion? I tried it with a lydia dress and couldn’t get it to look “right”. Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment